In Between A Planted Pallet and Pruning

Standard

IMG_6642

Last week I told you about the “A Planted Pallet” workshop I went to at Plantasia. Next week I will cover the ABCs of pruning – the second workshop I went to at Plantasia.

Before we move on to pruning though, I want to highlight this new paint I learned about from Joan McDonald who taught the “A Planted Pallet” workshop.  The paint is a line of clay and chalk paints by CeCe Caldwell. I bought the two colors pictured above and can’t wait to try them out!

As CeCe’s website explains:

“Our mineral paints have no Volatile Organic Compounds, are non-toxic and have no odor. The paint contains NO acrylic co-polymers, solvents, formaldehyde, ammonia, ethylene glycol or toxic heavy metals. The minerals are clay, porcelain clay and chalk blended into a water based solution. The paint is packaged in recycled plastic containers.”

Best of all, the ingredients are actually listed on the can.

IMG_6635

That brings me to this piece. It is an old RCA radio with the radio removed. It is not mine. I am redoing this for someone. I will tell you more about that later.

For now, I am focused on the new paint . . .

IMG_6638

the new piece . . .

IMG_6643

and how I might paint it.

Before I go though I do have a couple of updates:

  • With the help of a family member, we have figured out that The Streetside Nightstand was actually part of a vanity at one point. In addition, I have picked out a paint color for this piece. I am going to paint it Miss Mustard Seed’s “French Enamel” – I just need to order the paint.
  • Also, next week I will be ordering the foam, cotton and dacron for The Teal Chair. So, next month I will finish that chair!

Hope y’all are having a great Friday.

Leave a Reply

