Cleaning Product Fun

Standard

IMG_6534A couple of weeks ago I posted about making your own homemade cleaning products and then I showed you how I was making some citrus infused vinegar. Last week I actually made some of the recipes I told you about.

IMG_6551

I started by separating the citrus rhines from the vinegar and then I strained the vinegar through cheese cloth so that small citrus particles would not clog up a spray nozzle.

IMG_6544

Then I moved on to the liquid castille soap, which you may note was not on my list. However, it is a needed ingredient for Disinfecting, All-Purpose Spray.

When I went to buy liquid castille soap I did not find any at three different locations. My beloved Publix had bar castille soap though. So, I shredded the bar, added 2 3/4 cups of boiling water . . .

IMG_6547

let the soap shreds dissolve and I had liquid castille soap.

IMG_6549

On to the Disinfecting, All-Purpose Spray.

  • 1/4 C vinegar (white or orange, see recipe above.)
  • 2 t borax
  • 1/4 C liquid castille soap
  • 2 C hot water
  • 1 drop food coloring (optional)
  • A few drops of essential oil (optional)

I like it so far. I might try adding more citrus infused vinegar next time. Even though the liquid castille soap was not scented, it has its own natural scent that I can smell when I use the Disinfecting, All-Purpose Spray. While it is a good smell, I spent so much time on all that citrus infused vinegar that I want to smell more oranges when I spray!

IMG_6546

After that, I made some dishwashing detergent. One cup of Borax, once cup of baking soda and 1/2 cup of salt.

So far, I love this! I tried it out, even though I have not run out of my store bought detergent yet, and it worked great. I am excited for the store bought brand to run out so I can start using my ball jar of detergent.

Hope this inspires you to make some of your own products. Let me know if you do or if you already have and can make some suggestions!

One response »

Leave a Reply

