Bring on the Canvas

Standard

IMG_6011

Finally, we are here!

I cut the canvas about six inches from edge of seat to give me enough material to work with – i.e. to pull on and staple.

IMG_6012

I began with the canvas the same way I did with the batting and the muslin. I started stapling in the middle of each side and worked out until I came to the corners.

I did a little more research this time. The type of corner I tried to do is what is called a butterfly corner. Start by folding the extra fabric under at the corner. This will make two folds on either side of the corner.

IMG_6013

Pull the middle taunt and staple. Try not to catch the fabric folded under in your staple.

IMG_6014

Once you have stapled the center, fold the first fold over your center staple . . .

IMG_6015

and staple that fold down.

IMG_6016

Then trim off the excess material from the first fold. This makes it easier to work with the second fold.

IMG_6017

Fold the second fold over the top of the staples you just made on the first fold and staple the second fold down.

IMG_6018

Finally, trim off all excess fabric.

Small note here – when you are doing your butterfly corners, watch which fold of material you fold over first and staple. As you can see in the picture above, I used the fold of fabric on the sides of the seat as my first stapled fold. I then used the fabric along the top and bottom of the seat as my second fold of fabric. This will make your corners look more uniform.

IMG_6023

At last, turn the seat over and check out your work.

While I am pleased that I was finally able to use my Hitachi Air Compressor and PorterCable Pneumatic Upholstery Gun, I am somewhat disappointed in how this project turned out. As you can see in the picture, there are divots along the sides of the seat. That is from where I originally tacked down the foam to the seat. I had hoped the batting, muslin and canvas would smooth that out making it unnoticeable. Unfortunately, that was not the case. I feel that this is a lesson learned in buying better quality foam and using dacron, not batting.

Now, I just need to find a place here in Charleston that actually sells more appropriate products!

Leave a Reply

