Charleston Home and Design Show

Standard
IMG_5797

Where do you even buy these guys?

Looking for something to do this weekend? If you have kids, you can buy them those remote control cockroaches and take them to the Charleston Home & Design Show at the Citadel’s Johnson Hagood Stadium.

I went yesterday with my neighbor, Marley’s owner, and it was quite a bit of fun! Even the kids playing with these bugs were having a good time. I tell you, only in the South would you see remote controlled cockroaches. Well, on with the show.

The main reason I went was to see the White Room Challenge. I couldn’t wait to see what a decorator would do with an all white room! Having no TV I did not realize that that meant starting with a white room – basically nothing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once I got over the shock of the decorators’ use of pretty much everything but white, I voted for B. For which room would you vote?

IMG_5791

From there I was excited to see Laurie Cooper from Charleston Revisions. I buy my Annie Sloan Chalk Paint from her. The dresser and chair on the right are hers. She was painting the chair when we stopped by to visit.

IMG_5800

After that we saw some of the coolest furniture at Rick’s Lighting. I know, why does a lighting place have furniture?

IMG_5803

Well, look how fantastic this furniture is! They get it from Warehouse 2120 in Hickory, NC. It is made from old boats. I’m telling you, recycled, reclaimed or reinvented, it all has a place in my heart!

IMG_5807

Oh, and FYI, their lighting is pretty cool too.

IMG_5810

Then there was this spectacular hardwood floor. This picture SO does not do this floor from Elegant Hardwood Flooring justice. If you are looking for recycled wood in varying plank widths, these guys can help you. Make sure you stop by and say hi to Charlie.

samples_I

Next and final stop was at Fisher Recycling where they can help you make a countertop into a work of art. I am pretty sure it is pretty pricey but I really like like this concept. You can supply them with the items and they can repurpose it for you. What’s not to love about that idea?

Have fun at the show folks!

Leave a Reply

