Dresser from the Hood

Standard

Several weeks ago, someone in my neighborhood threw out this dresser. Actually, there were two dressers. Unfortunately, the other one would not fit in the car. So, I brought this one home and was determined to see it reinvented.

Bonus for you, you can see our pet food buckets and recycle bins in the background of the picture!

As for the dresser, it came standard with those leaves on the front of it. I didn’t add them for effect or anything. It was actually laying face down in the dirt when I happened upon it.

It was in pretty rough shape as you can see from the top. I found that thing on top of the dresser too. That is another project.

After a thorough washing and some research on paint, I opted to use Annie Sloan Chalk Paint (ASCP) in the color “Old White.” I have not used ASCP before so this was a fun adventure.

The dresser in progress.

Another bonus, you can see my attempt at art there in the background on the right. Looking for something fun to do, check out Party and Paint in West Ashley.

More progress . . .

continuing on . . .

and back to the drawers. I used the color “Napoleonic Blue” mixed with a bit of “Old White” for the inside of the drawers.

The directions for ASCP read that you apply the paint, wax with clear wax, then sand/distress if desired. After the first coat of paint, I wasn’t too sure what I was in for with the ASCP and this dresser. I will be honest, it looked and felt awful. I pressed on though and with some apprehension I took to sanding, distressing and applying a new coat of clear wax.

What a reward!

I was surprised by how well it turned out.

I got so excited about it that I rearranged my living room to make way for the dresser.

It now serves as an entry table of sorts.

One final pic of the top.

If you have a piece of furniture you want to repaint, I would definitely recommend using ASCP. All I did was wash this dresser off, slap a coat of paint on it, wax, sand, then wax again and buff.

Let me know if you have any questions about this project, I would be happy to answer them!

Click here to see the wheels I gave this dresser!

Leave a Reply

