“Inspired You” by Marian Parsons AKA Miss Mustard Seed

Standard

About three months ago I happened upon a great blog, Miss Mustard Seed. I had heard of chalk paint and had been hunting around on the web for more information about it when I found Marion Parsons’ website. “Move Mountains in Your Home” her site invites. I was hooked.

For years I have been moving furniture around in my home – just put a couple of old towels under any piece of furniture and you can pretty much push it wherever you want it to go. So, while I can rearrange and reorganize with the best, I have never ventured as far as painting any piece of furniture I brought home or exploring other creative possibilities.

As I have been bringing home more and more furniture lately, David thoughtfully pre-ordered Parsons’ book, “Inspired You,” for me. I was so excited to see it on my door step yesterday (I even tweeted about it and she retweeted it – how cool is that!). Well, between last night and this morning, I read the whole thing. I had my highlighter out and everything.

She opens the book with some motivation, a tutorial and then gives you a rundown on how she went from creative spirit, to stay at home mom, to DIYer, to blogger, to designer and now author. There is more to it than that but you should pick up the book to get the full picture.

Parsons also gives you a rundown on where to shop when you are working on a budget – and even if you are not. Her go to places are garage sales, thrift stores, flea markets, antique stores, estate sales, auctions and there is even a helpful bit on buying and posting items on Craigslist. In addition, the book has several great tutorials. My favorite is the Sheet-Music Wreath Tutorial. I love the look. Here is a link to a blog she did that shows a similar wreath. Scroll down a bit and you will find it.

What I enjoyed most about the book though was her message on perspective and patience. Using our given talents, she asks us to bring those not only to our homes but to our lives as well. As she invites you to create through her website, she continues that in her book and goes further in inviting you to look at something in your home, then something at a thrift store, then something in your life and finally someone in your life and see each not for what they are, but what they can be.

From the beginning Parsons writes about the imperfect, perfect home.  She points out that even magazine homes are people’s homes and that they didn’t and don’t always look like they do in the picture. It takes time for a house to become a home – to be comfortable and to reflect those that live there. It is easy for us all  to look around at our dwelling place and imagine it fixed right now, this very moment! However, with some patience and perspective, more than likely achieved outside of a focus that is strictly on the house, that house will become the home we want.

If my brief run down on her book has you curious, please check out her website. If you want to order the book, click here. Finally, if you are now truly inspired and want to start painting some furniture, check out her new line of milk paint, Miss Mustard Seed’s Milk Paint.

Last but not least, I am always looking for a good book to read. If you have read a creative book, design book, DIY book or something in that arena, please post a comment and let me know. I am currently fresh out of reading material!

Leave a Reply

